Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy (review by Andrew R. ’17)

Skulduggery Pleasant (Skulduggery Pleasant, #1)Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“Ace detective, snappy dresser, razor-tongued wit, crackerjack sorcerer, and walking, talking, fire-throwing skeleton.” That’s how author Derek Landy describes Skulduggery Pleasant, who, in this first book of an ongoing series, must track down and stop his old nemesis Nefarian Serpine from acquiring a staff of unimaginable power. Fortunately, a young girl named Stephanie Edgley is eager to join the chase – and once she sees the world of sorcery and wonder – never wants to leave. While action and humor are scattered liberally throughout its pages, I found that this novel provides instant gratification, rather than the long-lasting satisfaction I tend to prefer. The characters are consistent but forgettable; the plot is engaging but not particularly unique. Fans of Artemis Fowl and The Bartimaeus Trilogy will enjoy reading Skulduggery Pleasant for pleasure, but should not expect a thought-provoking or memorable experience. – Andrew R. ‘17

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s